Congratulations to all the participants, their teachers and families!

Piano Competition


1st place: Antoni Kleczek, student of Martin Labazevitch

2nd place: William Hsieh, student of Martin Labazevitch and Sanjeev Belle Trichur, student of Deborah Lloyd

Honorable mention: Jessica Wang, student of Wen-Yin Chan and Nate Wang, student of Artur Aksenov

Instrumental Competition


1st place: Jacqueline Cavallin, student of Leslie Silverfine

2nd place: Camille Larsen-Humphreys, student of Michelle Kim

Honorable mention: Payton Everett, student of Gwen Miller Seal and John “Jack” Wingfield, student of JoAnna Cochenet-Gallastegui


1st place: Lucas Das, student of Henry Stubbs

2nd place: Ruby Ahdoot, student of Kathleen Ellingson Jacobi

Honorable mention: Eddie Cavallin, student of Leslie Silverfine and Grey Small, student of Doug Rogers

About the Competition

The Ruth P. Cogen Concerto Competition was established by Levine’s Board of Trustees in 1983 to honor Ruth Cogen, one of Levine’s founders and first chair of the Board of Trustees from 1976-1983.

From 1984-1987, all students competed together in a single division. The winners for those years were Will Flanders (1984), Yuki MacQueen (1985), Lisa Campi (1986) and Britton Plourde (1987).

In 1988 the competition was expanded to include separate piano and instrumental competitions with Junior, Intermediate, and Senor Divisions for each. The Junior Division is for ages up to 9 years old, the Intermediate Division is for 10-13 year olds and the Senior Division for 14-18 year olds.

This program has been made possible through the generous support of the Marinus and Minna B. Koster Foundation, Inc.