Levine Presents

Levine Presents 2020-21 Performance Series:
Beyond Imagined Boundaries: Merging Cultures and Modernization

Thanks to technology, we live in a global society where ideas and influences come from all corners of the world. Musicians and composers have found creative inspiration in the music of other cultures for centuries and today, we discover new music sounds, and delve into the music of far-off places, on platforms including Spotify and YouTube. These new-fangled jukeboxes inspire creative collaboration much in the same way the advent of printed and published music, the phonograph, and Tesla’s radio once did. With a range of styles and genres, this year’s season offers something for every musical taste.

This season of Levine Presents is offered free of charge thanks to the generosity of many donors.

Season Highlights


Season Preview Concert

Saturday, September 26, 2020, 7 PM
Join us for the launch of the performance season with a lively evening of music featuring samples from the season’s offerings.
Watch this Concert

Music for the People: 18th to 20th Century French Trios
Saturday, October 17, 2020, 7 PM
Watch this Concert

Music of The Lord of the Rings and Richard Wagner’s Ring Cycle
Saturday, November 14, 2020, 7 PM
Watch this Concert

Alfred Schnittke: The Master Time Traveler
Saturday, December 5, 2020, 7 PM
RSVP

Piazzolla: A Musical Journey Through Tango
Saturday, January 23, 2021, 7 PM
RSVP

Go Spalla! Rediscovering the Violoncello da Spalla
Saturday, February 20, 2021, 7 PM
RSVP

Global Voices: A Celebration of Immigrant Voices in the DMV
Saturday, March 6, 2021, 7 PM
RSVP

The Spirit of Radio: The Music of Rush
Saturday, April 10, 2021, 7 PM
RSVP

A Night on Broadway
Saturday, May 8, 2021, 7 PM
RSVP

Musical Conversations with WETA

Join Classical WETA host James Jacobs and Levine faculty artists in a broad-ranging lecture, conversation and musical excerpts prior to select Levine Presents concerts.

Music for the People: 18th to 20th Century French Trios
Sunday, September 13, 2020, 1:30 PM

Music of The Lord of the Rings and Richard Wagner’s Ring Cycle
Sunday, October 11, 2020, 4 PM
View this Event

Alfred Schnittke: The Master Time Traveler
Sunday, November 8, 2020, 4 PM
View this Event

Go Spalla! Rediscovering the Violoncello da Spalla
Sunday, January 24, 2021, 4 PM
RSVP

Young Concert Artists Series

Join us as Young Concert Artists present a performance, master class, and conversation with the audience.

2020-21 dates coming soon.

Master Class Series at Levine

Join us as guest artists of renown coach advanced students.

Artist-in-Residence Lambert Orkis, piano
Saturday, May 1, 2021, 11 AM
Location TBD

Additional Master Classes will be posted as they are available.

Loeffler Alumni Series

Fedor Ouspensky, violin with Anna Ouspenskaya and Igor Zubkovsky
Sunday, October 18, 2020, 4 PM
Watch this Concert

Dane Frandsen, flute
Sunday, February 7, 2021, 4 PM
RSVP

Tribute Concert for Irena Orlov featuring Ralitza Patcheva, Sam Post, and Boris Ivanov
Sunday, May 16, 2021, 4 PM
RSVP

Levine Music partners with Classical WETA 90.9 FM, a passionate advocate for the advancement of music education, to share the Levine story with listeners.